Exploring Roles in the ECE Community: Local and State Levels

The first organization that appealed to me is my local Boys and Girls Club.

bgca_logo

Mission statement: To enable all young people, especially those who need us most, to reach their full potential as productive, caring, responsible citizens (https://www.bgca.org/).

I chose this organization because they are an organization that cares for children especially children from low-income families. They open their doors to those who need them the most. Children go to the club after-school and in the summer for the summer program.

They currently had no job openings but if they had an opening for a position I would choose to be a Teen Program Coordinator. The skills and expertise I would need in order to fulfil this role would be:

  • Associate degree from any college or university
  • MS Office and web competency
  • Experience working with youth ages 13-18
  • Strong verbal and communication skills
  • Knowledge of trends in fitness, developmental games, and other athletic activities
  • Be able to work independently
  • Be able to motivate youth and mange behavior
  • Have a good driving record and valid driver’s license

 

The second organization that appeals to me is the Early Learning Coalition of Polk County.

logo

Mission: The coalitoon will provide leadership. Direction, and integrated resource management for quality services that support our vision of success for children (https://elcpolk.org/about/mission-and-vision/).

I chose this organization because they are an organizaton that works to make sure all children attend quality child care programs, enter school healthy and ready for lifelong learning and collaborate with parents, families, educators, and the community.

The current position they have available that interest me is Parent Counselor. This position provides referral information to parents who are seeking child care assistance matters and determines if the parents are eligible for financial assiatance for child care/School readiness and Vountary Pre-Kindergarten services according to the funding guidelines. The skills and expertise that is needed for this position is:

  • High School Diploma or equivalent, but preferably an AA degree
  • 2 years experience in case management; provision of services under a county or state contract is preferred.
  • Be available to work flexible schedules inclusing weekend/evenings occasionally
  • Valid Florida driver’s license
  • Proof of auto insurance
  • Ability to travel locally or regionally for site and home visits, training, and other job-related activities and functions

The third organization that appeals to me is Florida Department of Children and Families.

logo1

I chose this organization because they help children and families in our city and state with different situations such as food and cash assistance, medical assistance, homelessness, child abuse and neglect, divorce, and etc. They care about the safe and well-being of children. They have several programs to help assist families.

The current job opportunity they have that interest me is Child Protective Investigator. They help children and work with families in crisis. This is professional work protecting children and working with families to conduct investigations of alleged abused, abandoned, neglected or exploited children (http://www.myflfamilies.com/).

The skills and expertise that is needed for this position is:

  • Detail-oriented
  • Conducts investigations regarding allegations of abuse, neglect, abandonment and/or special conditions for children;
  • Works closely with law enforcement;
  • Collects information through observation and interviews with the children, parents, relatives, neighbors, and other parties associated with the case, as well as analysis of criminal, past service history and other records;
  • Engages families to understand the family’s perspectives about family dynamics, challenges and solutions, identifies needs and determines the level of intervention needed to include voluntary services or court ordered dependency services;
  • Assesses danger threats, child vulnerabilities and caregiver protective capacities in order to determine whether a child is safe or not safe;
  • Develops with family and other persons as necessary any required present and/or impending danger plans based on  analysis of danger threats in operation;
  • Manages and modifies safety plans as necessary during the course of the investigation;
  • Arranges emergency placement for any child that cannot safely remain in the home;
  • Notifies state attorney, law enforcement, child protection team and other required individuals as appropriate;
  • Provides written present and impending danger assessments;
  • Completes Risk Assessment on families investigated and explains risk score to family;
  • Conducts any staffing required for families with risk scores that are High and Very High Risk;
  • Presents safety plan and impending danger assessment at case management case transfer staffing and participates in discussion as to recommended follow-up actions;
  • Provides families with services linkages to agency and community resources based on needs assessment and provides recommendations for development of case plan to Case Manager;
  • Conducts initial/ongoing child present and impending danger assessments;
  • Develops with the family a signed Present Danger Plan and a signed safety plan for any identified threats and interventions;
  • Notifies state attorney, law enforcement, child protection team and other required individuals as appropriate;
  • Schedules and gathers information for and participates in case staffing
  • Prepares appropriate reports/documentation in coordination with Children’s Legal Services and provides testimony in court;
  • Maintains thorough documentation in the client records/appropriate information system(s) and maintains organized client files;
  • Reports indication of abuse, neglect and/or abandonment to the Florida Abuse Hotline;
  • Establishes and maintains cooperative and professional working relationships with organizations and other agencies involved with child protective investigations such as community based providers, Children’s Legal Services, law enforcement, medical personnel, schools, and other community/agency resources;
  • Ensures effective communication with deaf or hard-of hearing customers or companions in accordance with the ADA and/or Section 504 and shall manage service records and report this data and any resources and/or training needs to their designated program point of contact.
  • A Bachelor’s degree; preferred Bachelor’s or  Master’s degree in social work from a college or university social work program accredited by the Council on Social Work Education
  • Must obtain Florida Child Protective Investigator certification within 12 months of hire (http://www.myflfamilies.com/).

 

References

Boys & Girls Club of America. Retrieved from: https://www.bgca.org/.

Early Learning Coalition of Polk County. Retrieved from: https://elcpolk.org/.

Florida Department of Children and Families. http://www.myflfamilies.com/.

6 thoughts on “Exploring Roles in the ECE Community: Local and State Levels

  1. The Boys and Girls club of American is an organization that I never considered to be in support of equity for low-income families.I always associated them only with after-school care.I am glad I read your post.I also value the contributions and efforts of my local Early Learning Coalition.

    -Annaalieza Perkins

    Like

  2. Regina,

    I enjoyed reading about all the different organization that you posted. I have worked for the Boys and Girls Club before and they do some great things for kids so that they can get off the streets and stay out of trouble. I am so glad that we have programs like that. The Early Learning Coalition is one that I am going to have to check out more. I like that they are there for the parents to help them find high-quality education and it is something that I am very much interested in. I feel that every child should have the opportunity for a great education. Thank you for sharing and I am excited to be taking this course with you.
    Lyndy Tucker

    Like

  3. Hi Gina
    The Boys and Girls hits home for me because that is a place that kept me from bieng nothing in life I was raised by my grandparent and it was a safe haven for me while they worked . I gave me a sense of getting involve in helping others.The Boys and Girls club of America opened not only there doors but their hearts to children like myself and believed in them and created opportunities for them to become the best that they could be. Thanks for reminding me of where I came from and where i am going in this journey called life.
    Martine

    Like

  4. Regina,
    I think being a Child Protective Investigator. I think you would get such insight on families and children. It would be a very hard job, but very rewarding. It seems interesting to me that the jobs you chose do not need advanced degrees. I think working with any of those programs would be an adventure.
    Amy

    Like

  5. Hi Regina
    I would also be interested in the Child Protective Investigator position. However, I would be concerned about how well I could handle some of the information or the severity of the cases that I worked on. Children do need to be protected and I believe that this program and all of the diversity training we have received would be put to excellent use in that role. Still, I would only hope that I did not become too sensitive and could still do my job effectively and objectively. I see the position requires at least a Bachelor’s degree. I believe a Master’s degree should be the requirement along with the certification. Children’s safety is not something to play around with and a lot of times people obtain Bachelor degrees not really knowing what they want to do or just because they had to choose a major to graduate. Then they apply for a job that is really not their passion but they qualify because of the degree. At the Master’s level I believe there is more passion for the area of study and therefore is more beneficial to the position. Thanks doe sharing!

    Like

  6. Hi Regina
    Great choice with the Boys and Girls Club. I am a product of the Boys and Girls Club and I would love to explore a career opportunity with them because they have made me the individual that I am. I am an educator and have been educated because of my childhood experiences with them. I never play basketball before joining the Boys and Girls Club but I excelled enough to get a full ride for my undergraduate degree. I learned positive discipline and I know that is a goal that they have set for all children in their care. They are creators of social change. It is my belief that words without actions are useless. I know that the Boys and Girls Club is a viable program that is essential to social change in America for children. Great post
    Martime.

    Like

Leave a comment